The first steps

My name is Izabella Vajda. I graduated from the Peto Institute in Hungary as a Conductor-kindergarten teacher in 2007. Ever since I’ve been working with children with Cerebral Palsy (CP) of different ages and disabilities in numerous countries.

In this blog I write about my experience, the method of Conductive Education, the different disabilities and symptoms of CP as well as interesting related subjects. I would like to get Conductive Education closer to the public and keep contact with other professionals, therapists in similar topics.

My primary goal is to help parents with children with disabilities and assist them in living with Cerebral Palsy.

Please feel free to join me on this journey and give feedback or leave comments.

An excerpt from the mission statement of Pető Institute:

Physician and educator Andras Pető developed his conductive education system after World War II, in 1945. His method opened up a new path for the rehabilitation of children and adults whose motor impairments originate from damage to the central nervous system. His approach was first taught and practised in the predecessor of the Institute now named after him. Conductive education is based on the idea that despite the damage, the nervous system still possesses the capacity to form new neural connections and this ability can be mobilised with the help of a properly guided teaching and learning process. That is the reason why Professor Pető called his method “conductive” (Latin origin).

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin DeCarlo
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 16:20:12

    Congrats Iza! I will be so interested in your site, and I am sure I will learn from it. Let me know if you need anything at all!

    Reply

  2. vajdaizabella
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 21:39:26

    Thank you so much Erin for the positive feedback, I’m really glad you liked my blog. I can’t wait to read your views on what I have written. Please send my best wishes to the Angels of Rising Star!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Inside the blogosphere: Discussing Conductive Education « Playing With Angels

Leave a Reply

